More Fodder for The Ban List
Powered by IP2Location.com
Several times a week I get spammed by this domain: http://www.karaokecentral.info/ Don’t click on the link because there isn’t anything there worth even looking at, let alone driving traffic to that idiotic site. I’m mentioning it because I’m hoping the spamming ‘wad will read this and get the message: your site sucks, and stop spamming me - your domain is banned and you’re wasting your time. Ah, but these types are normally stupid so I don’t expect anything.
There are a growing number of these completely valueless sites that are nothing more than link, and link bait repositories. These sites usually leave their garbage spam as trackbacks on blogs. Trackback spam is becoming more of a problem as spammers figure out that as long as they have the blog URL in the trackback, the spam blocker software will usually post the trackback. Our readers should have fun checking out the comments for the last 10 or 15 articles and then count the number of links to blogs of completely worthless content. Some of them are truly retarded.
Karaokecentral doesn’t allow comments, but they have a laughable terms of service and privacy policy. Hopefully with your lack of support for these kinds of blogs they will dry up and go away. They exist for one single reason - to get clicks on their ads. There’s no content to speak of. Just make sure that you never click on any of the ads for these sites, and avoid them altogether if you can.
Printer Friendly Version


March 2nd, 2008 at 10:03 am
It is a scam to make money from the advertising click-throughs.
Here is an interesting article on them.
http://blogs.msdn.com/oldnewthing/archive/2008/02/18/7761978.aspx
It looks like they use a 60 day trial domain registration to scrape as many click-throughs as possible.
Stephen
Stephen’s last blog post..The old and the new
[Reply to Comment]
thenhbushman
reply on March 2nd, 2008 6:32 pm:
[Reply to Comment]
March 2nd, 2008 at 9:09 pm
I got one of those last month. I received an email asking if they could link to my blog. Turns out the site was selling shoes. I thought I was going to read a blog, but since I’ve been tricked to view a virtual shoe store let me max out the credit card on some sneaker and shoes. They seem to ave such integrity.
Scuzzbags are everywhere.
[Reply to Comment]
thenhbushman
reply on March 3rd, 2008 12:23 pm:
[Reply to Comment]
March 3rd, 2008 at 1:04 pm
For me, Akismet rarely lets spam trackbacks through.
Todd’s last blog post..228 Rally at Zhongshan Stadium
[Reply to Comment]
thenhbushman
reply on March 3rd, 2008 7:34 pm:
[Reply to Comment]
March 4th, 2008 at 1:08 am
Akismet should ‘learn’ to deal with these spammers as long as people are designating the comments and trackbacks as spam. It is a cat and mouse game that seemingly will never go away. The thing now I have noticed is that people are surfing the net and making short but legitimate comments to my site with URL’s to these garbage sites.
ANd by the way Michael, your WordPress is having a plugin problem when it comes to entering comments. You should give it a try and see. Also, there are two Captcha style anti spam mechanisms.
[Reply to Comment]
thenhbushman
reply on March 4th, 2008 9:37 am:
can you elaborate on the comments problem John? we’ve tested the site with Firefox, Flock and IE under linux and windows with no problems that we can encounter. thanks.
[Reply to Comment]
March 4th, 2008 at 5:04 pm
The first comment I made yesterday brought me to a second black captcha page, and an error message popped up on the screen, something to do with your updates plugin (?) and the header image. The second comment I made didn’t have that. I use Firefox.
John’s last blog post..Taiwanese Fashion: The Butt Crack
[Reply to Comment]